//
you're reading...
Actors, Filming, Interviews, Videos

Joss Whedon Talks About Clark Gregg’s Expanded Role In The Avengers And More!

The director discusses his “man crush” on actor Clark Gregg, letting slip that Agent Coulson has a much larger part to play this time around, as well as revealing that the movie is keeping him up at night and more…
Click here to watch the video interview!
 Whedon said in a recent interview with MTV News“It’s great, he’s been weaving his way through every movie and I really get to play with him and have [him do] a lot of stuff. There were things that during the writing, I was like, ‘I need something more here… Oh, Coulson!’ and he just, he comes up every time. Clark is such a wonderful guy but also such a precise actor. The whole troupe is so amazing, I’m actually surprised.”

“I have reached the top, I’m going down the other side, I’ve just realized my Sherpa guide is frozen to death and several of my toes are missing,” he added when asked about how work is progressing on the movie so far. “But we are on our way down.”

As for how he’s feeling, Whedon revealed that he’s not yet got to the point where his thoughts about the movie are invading his dreams, but they are keeping him up at night! “I don’t dream, I just think about coverage while sleeping, and then I wake up four hours later. It is an enormous task. It’s not daunting in the sense of any kind of responsibility except the responsibility I always have, which is ‘Will the audience respond to this? Have I given as much as I can? Have I made the actors do as much as they can? Have I made them comfortable? Does it all track as a movie?’ The complexity of this giant puzzle sort of wakes you up at 2 a.m. pretty much every night.”

“I’ve encouraged people to come to set because people assume they can’t. For my own self, I try to get my wife there,” he admitted.“She doesn’t really like being on set because it’s sort of dull, and occasionally I import a friend just to have that touchstone of someone who knows who I am. Everyone is wonderful, but they’re all new, and when you’re in the thick of it you need someone to go, ‘You’re not crazy.’ “

About coreyharris8934

I'm a big fan of comics. My favorites include Superman, Batman, Spider-Man, Defenders, 30 Days of Night and The Walking Dead. I enjoy writing and traveling. I'm currently living outside Los Angeles.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Our site!

The Avengers is an upcoming American superhero film produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Pictures. It was announced in April 2005 and is based upon the Marvel Comics superhero team of the same name. The film is part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe that crosses over several Marvel superhero films including Iron Man (2008), The Incredible Hulk (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), Thor (2011) and Captain America: The First Avenger (2011). The film is written and directed by Joss Whedon and stars Robert Downey, Jr., Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth and Chris Evans. The Avengers is scheduled to be released on May 4, 2012, in 3D.

Blog Stats

  • 631 hits

Disclaimer

The Avengers News! is a fansite dedicated to the upcoming film from director Joss Whedon. We aim to bring you coverage from the upcoming film s it breaks. No affiliation with © Marvel Comics / Paramount Contact me at coreyharris8934[@]yahoo.com